Almost Half Way

Standard

I wanted to document each day of my “Whole 30 Challenge.” I got a little side tracked and have not been keeping up with my blog. I am going to change that! Tomorrow is the half way point for the nutrition challenge. This weekend was a MAJOR cooking weekend for me! I wanted to try new things and eat some of my favorites!

I made butternut squash lasagna Friday night. This recipe is one of my favorites. It surprised me the first time I made it. It tastes so close to lasagna, it’s crazzzy! What makes this recipe so great is that you add beaten eggs in-between the butternut squash and meat sauce layers. That egg makes almost a cheesy consistency.

lasagna3This is definitely a recipe everyone should try!

I also made Paleo buffalo chicken dip! This was the first time I made this recipe. It was awesome! It tastes just like buffalo chicken dip just without the ranch and cream cheese. I changed the recipe a little. I baked boneless skinless chicken breasts in the oven and also I added more Frank’s RedHot because I like my dip SPICY! Celery and peppers were the perfect dippers!

BREAKFAST

pancakes

I am not a major fan of breakfast foods. For some reason I’d rather eat a hot dog or mac and cheese for breakfast than eggs and bacon. I do love cereal though. I stopped eating cereal about a year and a half ago. But, once in awhile (maybe every 6 months) I will pick up a box.  These pancakes are AMAZING! The recipe is also super easy. You just beat 3 eggs with one banana. I also add cinnamon and blueberries. I even poured the batter in a waffle iron and made waffles! Instead of maple syrup I made a blueberry “compote.” I melted coconut oil and added blueberries, fresh squeeze lemon juice, and a little water. BEST BREAKFAST EVER!

For lunch today I had a grilled hot dog and hamburger. The hot dogs are Applegate brand. There are no crazy ingredients. I ground my own chuck roast for the hamburgers.

I also made homemade mayonnaise. Mayonnaise can be the most annoying thing to make. I finally figured it out. I use my blender this time and it worked perfectly! I blend an egg yolk, a squirt of lemon juice, and a little bit of fresh garlic. The complicated part is that you have to pour the light olive oil in the blender very very slowly or it’ll screw the whole thing up.

hamburger

Leave a Reply

